If you are a business or a school that is a G Suite user, in addition to virtually unlimited storage, you have a great opportunity to use a Shared Drive option.

Shared Drive is not connected to any personal account within the organization. It means that the files are owned by the whole organization as such, rather than by individuals. This fact has two major advantages:

  • First of all, in this way you can avoid glitches that often arise in Google Drive due to lack of permissions.
  • Secondly, you don’t have to move your entire database from one account to another if the key employee decides to leave the organization.

For this very reason we highly recommend teams to use Shared Drive with Pics.io. The best practice is to create a separate Shared Drive and provide Pics.io with access to that. In this case you won’t have to give access to the rest of your Google Drive.


However, there is one shortcoming in Shared Drive that can slightly hinder your work in Pics.io. Shared Drive restricts the location of your assets to only one folder within the storage. This results in the following peculiarities of Pics.io behavior:

  • You can't keep your asset inside more than one collection at a time. So, if you try to attach an asset to multiple collections, this asset will be removed from the first collection and appear in the second.
  • Similarly, you can't have an asset stored both inside a shared collection and a personal lightboard at the same time. So, If you try to copy an asset from a shared collection into a lightboard, the file will be removed from the former and appear in the latter.
  • However, you can have the same asset stored in several lightboards. And if you detach this asset from one lightboard, it will safely remain in the others.
  • If you have your asset attached to only one lightboard, detaching it from this lightboard will delete this file beyond retrieval. This is done on purpose in order to protect your personal files from unsolicited use.

How can I migrate files from Google Drive to Shared Drive?

NB! If you're not sure about how to transfer files to another account and would like to save all the information you currently have in your Pics.io account, please contact us at support@pics.io for further help. 

If your team decides to migrate from usual Google Drive to Shared Drive, here's what you should do:

  1. Create Shared Drive;
  2. Move files from your Google Drive to Shared Drive folder (move, do not re-upload). It is important to save Google Drive IDs on the files so that Pics.io could track them. You may use any tool for the migration purpose (e.g. Google Drive File Stream or Google Drive Backup and Sync). 
  3. Change Google Drive account and the working folder in the storage settings.

If you'd like to move files from My Drive to Shared Drive (or vice versa) within one G Suite account, you need to do the following steps: 

  1. Right mouse click on the folder you want to migrate and select 'Move to'. NB! Make sure you have permissions to move files into Shared Drives.
  2. Once the files migration is completed, login to your Pics.io library, change Google Drive account and working folder. 


Are there any limitations on using Shared Drive in Pics.io?

Pics.io doesn't have any limitations on the number and size of assets you store. Though, there are some limits on Shared Drive's side:

  • it's restricted to upload more than 400,000 files and folders;
  • the maximum size of one single asset shouldn't exceed 5 TB;
  • Shared Drive can nest up to 20 subfolders.

Feel free to check more details on the Shared Drive limitations here.

Did this answer your question?